Skip to content

CXCVIII

November 25, 2013

When light fades and night falls;
and time stays and death calls;
I’ll be here, I’ll wait for
the cold fear to take more.

When lungs close and hearts drop
and enclose the full stop;
I’ll wait for your hand to
pull ashore to save you.

When god dies and truth ends
in surprise to suspend;
I’ll fade out, I’ll fall back
to self doubt far off track.

I’ll be here, I’ll wait for
the end, dear, of all war;
I’ll fade out, I’ll fall back:
the dead drought, the great lack—

when light fades and night falls.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

