Skip to content

Hermes

November 13, 2015

My car leans heavy to the right; the tire
is going flat, I think. I’ve never really liked
to drive, but when I’m in the car
with you it’s kind of pleasant: moving there
from here with you, a destination in
our minds but present company upon
our eyes. The company of trees, in quick
oil painters’ horizontal strokes, outside
the windows, nicely frames our loneliness
inside the glass, together separate
from all the movement passing by behind
our thoughts as we are still, though moving towards
our future. When my hand slips off the wheel,
it finds a partner hand to hold in yours,
and when my eyes slip off the road, they find
a boundless well of love to match in yours.
I’ve never really liked to drive, but I
like going places with you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

