Skip to content

Cat-god

August 21, 2016
I met God at two in the morning and God was a cat.
How did I know it was God?:

I could not tell if it was male or female, therefore
according to Schrödinger’s cat this cat was both male and female;
it let me sit with it, watch it, feel it, and experience it,
but it did not follow me all the way home and, instead,
was content to find its own sustenance;
it was not perfect as I understand perfect,
but that was okay, it was a kind cat;
it seemed glad that I existed beside it, but
it did not seem to need me;
who else would meet me at two in the morning
but God?,
and why wouldn’t it be a cat,
sitting patiently on a newspaper box,
generously allowing me to find comfort in its musty,
musky fur and
its wide eyes and humming throat?
I think it found some comfort too.
I wonder how many folks sit with God when
God is a cat with two tufts where its tail used to be.
I could have spent longer with God but I was tired
and someone thought I seemed suspicious,
standing as I was on the corner of the street half-dressed and
mostly immobile.
I wonder how many times God has heard that excuse.
Thank God I am only mildly allergic to cats;
I may find salvation yet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2016 2:33 pm

    This is just such a lovely and delightful poem. It reminds me of a cat that followed a friend of mine and I on a midnight walk for almost a mile.

Leave a Reply

